Previous | Home | Next

Antique Tibetan sleeping rug. Soothing brown, archaic three medalions design with 8 Buddhist auspicious symbol of learning on the border. This and T16 are very similar, though different color I bought these from the same house in Tibet. mid level


The Chess board symbolises the need for games. The Pair of Castanets is the symbol for theatrical arts. Books are learning and poetry. The Scroll is the symbol of painting and writing.
The Five Qualities of Enjoyment are also used as offerings, as when they come into contact with our senses, they give rise to the negative consequences of attachment and craving:
The Mirror is a symbol for visual form.
The Lute symbolises sound.
The Incense Burner represents smell.
The Fruit refers to for taste.
The Silk relates to touch.
In offering these qualities, one meditates on their nature and the intention of abandoning craving.